Surrounded by extensive parks and gardens stands the former Cistercians monastery and modern-day Salem palace. It came into the possession of the Margraves of Baden in 1802 and has belonged to the Baden Württemberg State Administration of Palaces and Gardens since 2009. The origins of the complex date back to the Middle Ages when the village of Salmannsweiler was donated to the Cistercian order in 1134 for the purpose of building a monastery. It quickly became one of the most important abbeys in southern Germany.
Salem enjoyed renewed prosperity during the baroque era, as can be seen in the magnificently decorated monastery buildings which are still to this day the family residence of the Margraves of Baden.
Like very few other historical sites, Salem has remained in largely authentic condition since the time of the monastery: the stunning architecture and furnishings testify to the wealth and understanding of art of the Salem monks and take visitors on a journey back through the centuries.
The new monastery museum in the prelature together with the branch museum of the Badisches Landesmuseums Karlsruhe presents “Masterpieces of the Imperial Abbey”. The new Salem Fire-Brigade Museum in the Sennhof presents a unique collection of fire-fighting equipment – including some true rarities: historic hand pumps, steam fire engines and motorised fire engines.
Gothic minster with classical alabaster fittings, monastery museum, extensive palace complex with park and adventure playground, fire-brigade museum, historic wine-press, baroque stables, handicraft shops, wine and castle catering.
Visitors can take guided tours (Sundays only), tracing the footsteps of the “white” monks and learning how they used to live. “Masterpieces of the Imperial Abbey” are on display at the new museum, exploring the Cistercian Abbey’s artistic and architectural history chronologically from the High Middle Ages to the late Baroque period.
daily, 9:30 am–6 pm
Sunday and public holiday 10:30 am–6 pm
Castle closed, monastery museum open
Saturday, Sunday and public holiday 11 am–4:30 pm
24th and 31st December closed.
Guided tours Sunday and public holidays at 2 pm from the monastery museum.
One-time free admission with the Bodensee Card PLUS Summer
One-time free admission with the Bodensee Card PLUS Winter
Experience Salem Monastery & Castle barrier-free
Visitors with reduced mobility can visit the monastery and Salem Castle without restrictions except for the prelature.